From Ballybannon Hill to Magilligan Strand

By Paul Robinson 2024 review by James Loveridge One of the problems with history is that while it is...

100 YEARS OF LEGENDS – The Official Celebration of the Le Mans 24 Hours

By Denis Bernard, Basile Davoine, Julien Holtz and Gérard Holtz 2024 review by Peter McFadyen What a superb book...

Aspects of Motoring History # 19

Published August 2023. 132 pages, 60 black & white illustrations and charts and 26 full-colour images, softbound. Articles: Paul...

Aspects of Motoring History # 18

Published July 2022. 126 pages, 92 black & white illustrations and charts and 24 full-colour images, softbound. Articles: Craig...


It’s that time of the year again!

We are now inviting nominations for the SAHB’s two annual awards – the Malcolm Jeal Award for the best article on motoring history, and the Michael Sedgwick Award for the best motoring book.  The deadline for nominations this year, for both awards, is 15th July.  The awards will be presented at the SAHB AGM and Autumn Seminar in October.

The Malcolm Jeal Award:

This is the fourth year of this award; last year’s winner was Reg Winstone for Grand Prix Cyclecar, a thoroughly researched and beautifully illustrated history of the GN cyclecar and of one particular example. It was published in the August 2019 issue of The Automobile.

This award commemorates the late Malcolm Jeal’s dedication to thorough original research, well-written articles and succinct editing. He created and for many years edited the SAHB’s Aspects of Motoring History, and was the creator and initially sole writer of the SAHB website’s Snapshots that continue every week in his memory.

The award will be presented to the writer (not necessarily an SAHB member) of a single article of at least 1500 words that has appeared in print in English in any periodical. The period of publication for this year’s award will be the 12 months starting 1st July 2020 and finishing 30th June 2021. Only one article per author will be accepted by the judging panel.

The article must be about mechanically-powered road transport, be of historical value, and not previously have been published in any other form. The judging panel will take into consideration the appropriateness of accompanying illustrations, captions, sources and, where appropriate, references.

If anyone (and that means ANYONE – you don’t need to be an SAHB member) has read a particularly good article recently, or perhaps has been impressed by the detail of the research and good use of the English language, and would like to nominate it for this award, they should scan the article and send it, by email, to SAHB Publicity Officer Peter Moss at Please remember that you can nominate your own article.

The Michael Sedgwick Award:

This award is given annually in the name of the much respected motoring author, the late Michael Sedgwick. Last year’s winner was Oliver Heal, for his book Louis Coatalen: Engineering Impresario of Humber, Sunbeam, Talbot and Darracq (published by Unicorn, 2020).

Again this year, we are inviting nominations for books specifically about aspects of motoring in Britain, written in the English language (not necessarily by an SAHB member). The winning book will demonstrate excellence in its research, presentation, readability and novelty, and will materially further our understanding of the subject. The period of publication for this year’s award will also be the 12 months starting 1st July 2020 and finishing 30th June 2021.

To enhance this SAHB award, the Michael Sedgwick Memorial Trust will also give a £250 donation to the recipient.

Please send your nominations (you don’t need to be an SAHB member) to the chair of the Michael Sedgwick Award panel, Guy Loveridge, on


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *